Mole Valley votes for change

7 Jul 2024
Helen and Chris in House of Commons

In Thursday's General Election, voters across Mole Valley voted decisively for change by electing two new Liberal Democrat MPs.

In Dorking and Horley, Chris Coghlan was elected with a majority of 5,391. His constituency includes Bookham, Fetcham, dorking and the rural villages. He is the first Liberal MP for the area since Harry Brodie was elected for the Reigate division of Surrey in 1906. 

In Epsom and Ewell, Helen Maguire was elected with a majority of 3,686. Her contituency includes Leatherhead and Ashtead. Epsom and Ewell (and the predecessor constituency of Epsom) have always returned Conservative MPs since its formation in 1885. 

Our congratulations go to both Chris and Helen. They will join 70 other Liberal Democrat MPs making the largest Liberal group in Parliament for over 100 years.

Other nearby constituencies which Liberal Democrats won from the Conservatives include Guildford, Woking, Horsham, Sutton & Cheam and Esher & Walton.

Click here to join the winning Lib Dem team

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.